Bible Passages / Lenten Meditation

Lenten Meditation-Mark 2:4-5

Jesus Heals a Paralytic

4And when they could not bring him to Jesus because of the crowd, they removed the roof above him; and after having dug through it, they let down the mat on which the paralytic lay. 5When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, ‘Son, your sins are forgiven.’

Who were these four men that carried the paralytic? Who were the “some people” he came with? Who fixed the roof? I guess in the grand scheme of things these questions are somewhat unimportant. Although the thought goes through my mind every time I read this story.

I always picture Jesus in a room filled with people. They overflow into the street. They stand straining their ears while standing on their toes just to get a glimpse or to hear the words of a remarkable man.  Some ask, “What did he say?” Or the casual Passer-by asks, “What’s going on?” Then some people push through the  crowd carrying a paralyzed man on a mat. Who was it that had run and told them to quickly bring the paralytic? Maybe it was the healed leper.

They can’t get in. They carry him up on the roof and start digging a hole through to Jesus. I don’t know how hard it was to take a first century roof apart, but it must have caused debris and dirt to fall on the people below. Jesus and those below must have stopped and looked up to watch the man lowered into the room. Those on the roof must have yelled down something about the man on the mat. People outside would have been asking, “What’s going on in there?”

I imagine that all became quiet, only whispers. Maybe Jesus quietly said something to the man. Maybe he looked up and spoke to the men looking down through the hole. I can picture sunlight streaming through the hole and illuminating the floating dust  in the air. There is quiet. A dog barks in the distance or a baby begins to cry in the adjacent house. Then a voice of authority rings out, ” My roof! Who’s gonna fix my roof?”

Prayer: Dear Jesus, forgive me for my bad joke and forgive me for my sins. Amen

Leave a Reply

