Bible Passages / Lenten Meditation

Lenten Meditation-Mark 2:27-28

Pronouncement About the Sabbath

27Then he said to them, ‘The sabbath was made for humankind, and not humankind for the sabbath; 28so the Son of Man is lord even of the sabbath.’

The day of rest; the day to stop and cherish all that is good. This is the day to thank God for the wonders of creation and the day for cherry pies and comics.

When I was a kid, Sundays after church, was the time for my Hostess cherry pie and the Sunday morning comics. After a long morning of boring Sunday school and boring mass, we’d climb back into the car and head up to the milk store. That was when milk was sold in its own store. I think it was called the UDA (United Dairy Association) store. Milkmen were no longer in business because we all had refrigerators, but dairy product were not yet in the supermarkets, so milk had its own store. We’d get our milk; I’d get my cherry pie; my dad would get the Sunday paper; we’d head home. Most of the time I’d eat my pie on the way home, savoring every flaky gelatinous bite.

At home I’d ask for the comics. My dad made sure he took the coupon section out of the comics. He was the coupon clipper in our house. My mom would usually start right into dinner preparation. Amazing how important that Sunday meal used to be. Every week that was our big meal. Other nights it was chicken served in various sauces and forms, but on Sunday it was roast beef. I can’t say that I liked my mother’s roast beef. My dad liked it well done, so it was always dry and not very flavorful for my tastes. But it was a Sunday tradition, as were my pie and comics. I’d get the comics, spread them out all over the living room floor and devour them one by one. Peanuts, Dennis the Menace, Family, Circle, Dick Tracy, Prince Valiant  and many more that I can’t remember. I love that memory. Cherry pie and the comics that was the Lord’s day for me.

Prayer: Dear Lord, thank you for my childhood sabbaths. Amen

Leave a Reply

