Bible Passages / Lenten Meditation / Prayers

Lenten Meditation-Mark 4:31-32

The Parable of the Mustard Seed

31It [the kingdom of God] is like a mustard seed, which, when sown upon the ground, is the smallest of all the seeds on earth; 32yet when it is sown it grows up and becomes the greatest of all shrubs, and puts forth large branches, so that the birds of the air can make nests in its shade.’

Whenever Jesus speaks of the kingdom of God, my thoughts always turn to what Jesus told the Pharisees, ” the kingdom of God is within you” (Luke 17:21).  So as I read this parable, I feel that I am that mustard tree and the kingdom of God within me has grown from a tiny seed. I pray that it will never stop growing.

Each part of the kingdom grows and matures yearning for the nourishment from the word.  The branches are the wisdom that grows from the trunk of my soul. The birds live within those branches, like the Holy Spirit that lives within me.  My branches long for the birds of the air, for they harvest my seeds and plant them. The new trees sprout. Through the Holy Spirit, the word is spread. Am I saying that the new mustard trees sprout from the dung of the Holy Spirit? It may not be a pretty thought, but there is something in it. Isn’t it  fitting to think of the beauty of the kingdom of God emerging from waste? And when this  excrement and seed falls on fertile soil and the light of the word nourishes it,  it grows the new kingdom of God within.

Prayer: Dear Lord, my branches grow each time the wisdom of the word is revealed to me. Your Spirit lives within my branches and I pray that I am worthy enough to have my branches filled with that Spirit. I pray that I am able to produce bountiful seeds to be planted in fertile soil. I ask this through you Lord Jesus Christ. Amen

Leave a Reply

