Bible Passages / Lenten Meditation / Prayers

Lenten Meditation-Mark 4:39-40

Jesus Stills a Storm

39He woke up and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, ‘Peace! Be still!’ Then the wind ceased, and there was a dead calm. 40He said to them, ‘Why are you afraid? Have you still no faith?’

Once I dreamed that I was in the presence of God. All worry, all fears, all wants, all needs, all worldly desires left me. I was still. My soul was calmed beyond all imaginable calm. I was protected like never before. I could have slept through any storm. With the power of faith, we can be in the presence of God always.

With our faith, we must grasp the stillness.  God resides in the stillness, the calm. And when the storms of life churn around us, we need the faith to bring on the calm. It is always there, always ready and it has unlimited power to command any storm.

I awoke from my dream more refreshed than I could ever remember. I was left with one desire; to go back.

Prayer: Dear Lord, when I am surrounded by storms that seem insurmountable, I will remember the calm that you sent me in my dream and I will know that you are there. I will not be afraid. Thank You God. Amen.

Leave a Reply

