Bible Passages / Lenten Meditation / Prayers

Jesus Foretells His Death and Resurrection

Lenten Meditation-Mark 8: 34-35

34 He called the crowd with his disciples, and said to them, ‘If any want to become my followers, let them deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. 35For those who want to save their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake, and for the sake of the gospel, will save it.

A quote from Meister Eckhart:

My lowliness raises up God, and the lower I humble myself the higher do I exalt God, and the higher I do exalt God the more gently and sweetly he pours into me his divine gift, his divine influx. For the higher the inflowing thing the more easy and smooth is its flow. How God is raised up on my lowliness I argue thus: the more I abase and keep myself down the higher God towers above me. The deeper the trough the higher the crest. In just the same way, the more I abase and humble myself the higher God goes and the better and easier he pours into me his divine influx. So it is true that I exalt God by my lowliness.

My meditation thoughts today feel disjointed and rambling. Here they are in the order that they came out:

To deny is to be humble.

It is necessary to be humble.

Our world values assertiveness in the face of humbleness.

We cannot deny ourselves if we exalt ourselves.

Following God requires a total submission to God.

William Temple described the worship of God as follows:

“Worship is the submission of all our nature to God. It is the quickening of conscience by His holiness; the nourishment of mind with His truth; the purifying of imagination by His Beauty; the opening of the heart to His love; the surrender of will to His purpose – and all of this gathered up in adoration, the most selfless emotion of which our nature is capable and therefore the chief remedy for that self-centeredness which is our original sin and the source of all actual sin.”

Following and worshiping God requires the emptying out.

We have to let go of everything that holds us earth-bound.

There is no room for me and God.

Following  Jesus is not about me. It is not, “What do I get out of it?”

It’s not about being fulfilled. It’s about being filled. It’s not about satisfaction. It’s about holy dissatisfaction with all that is wrong. It’s not about happiness. It’s about righteousness.  To follow God, I must deny myself…

Prayer: Dear Jesus, I want to I empty myself to be filled. The cross is heavy. And I am scared. Fill me, so that I may exalt you and praise you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

